Footage of F1 driver vote surfaces

Sebastian Vettel has been replaced at Aston Martin by Alpine's Fernando Alonso for next season.

Grand Prix Drivers’ Association (GPDA) chairman, Alex Wurz, posted a video of the drivers voting on who should replace Sebastian Vettel in the union.

Vettel and Mercedes driver George Russell are currently the two directors of the association after the young Briton took over from the departing Romain Grosjean at the end of 2020.

Vettel became one of the directors in 2010 during his first title winning season with Red Bull, and the German has always cared about the welfare of his fellow drivers, as well as key issues within the sport and the wider world.

The 35-year-old announced his retirement from Formula 1 last week, meaning that, while he may still have a part to play in the GPDA, the FIA, or indeed Formula 1, he can no longer serve as a director as of the end of this season.

READ: Fernando Alonso reveals why he has decided to join Aston Martin

As a result, a replacement must be found, so the drivers got together in the briefing room on Saturday morning at the Hungarian Grand Prix to vote by secret ballot as to who should take Vettel’s place.

In Wurz’s video, they could all be seen scrambling to get their votes in by writing the name of their chosen driver on a piece of paper and depositing it into a box. It goes without saying that the drivers cannot vote for themselves.

It was compared by some fans on social media to students leaving it until the last second to finish the final question on a test, while one joked that Max Verstappen is voting to bring now former race director Michael Masi back.

READ: Mick Schumacher admits interest in Sebastian Vettel’s seat as Daniel Ricciardo addresses rumours

Article continues below

Michael Schumacher, Damon Hill, David Coulthard, Fernando Alonso and Jenson Button are among the names to have served as director of the GPDA, which was founded in 1961.

Sir Stirling Moss was the first-ever chairman, while Wurz took over in his current role from Pedro de la Rosa in 2014.