FIA under fire for post-race ruling as Sergio Perez confirmed as the winner

Sergio Pérez claimed his second victory of the season with an emphatic win at the 2022 Singapore GP, ahead of Charles Leclerc.

Sergio Pérez has finally been confirmed as the winner of the first Singapore Grand Prix since 2019, after an excellent performance in extremely challenging positions.

Delays appear to have been the theme of the day at the Marina Bay Circuit, both before and after the race.

The start of the race was understandably delayed by an hour following an incredibly heavy thunderstorm, which saw grandstands fill with water and rivers run across the circuit.

By the time the race did get underway, the entire field opted for Intermediate tyres with the conditions being fascinatingly similar to qualifying.

READ: ‘Not doing well’: Red Bull owner’s health raises alarm bells

Pérez made a brilliant start from second and immediately took the race lead from pole sitter Charles Leclerc on the short run down to Turn One.

The Mexican, who is notorious for managing his tyres impeccably, controlled the race from start to finish.

He came under some pressure from Leclerc; however, on the whole the Red Bull driver managed the gap as needed.

However, the 32-year-old was somewhat unable to fully let loose during his post-race celebrations, after the stewards decided that the race winner would be investigated after the race for a Safety Car infringement.

Article continues below

It was argued by Ferrari that Pérez had dropped back to beyond 10 car lengths from the Safety Car whilst it was still in use, something which isn’t allowed in the rulebook.

The problem was, though, he did it twice.

For some unknown reason the decision on the infringements was made an unacceptable two hours after the Mexican was greeted with the chequered flag, something which went down woefully among the fans and the media.

Despite Sebastian Vettel having not been given a penalty at the Canadian Grand Prix earlier in the year for dropping considerably far back, Pérez was actually awarded a five-second time penalty and two penalty points onto his superlicence.

The only viable explanation for why Pérez was given a penalty and not Vettel, is because the Mexican was guilty of having done it twice, whereas the German driver only did it once.

Due to crossing the line seven seconds ahead of Leclerc, the time penalty was effectively meaningless, as was the time it took the stewards to make the decision.

Matt Gallagher from WTF1 summed up the situation perfectly on Twitter, where he said:

“It really is a shame that an incredible drive by Perez is slightly overshadowed by the FIA’s inability to make a decision.

READ: Lewis Hamilton lashes out at Mercedes for ‘wrong tyre’ call

“Processes need to be changed.”

There were dozens of replies in support of Perez, while others called for the FIA to make fewer post-race decisions.

Pérez’s second street victory of the season made him the first person since Vettel in 2011 to win the Monaco Grand Prix and the Singapore GP in the same season, a feat that clearly many haven’t achieved.

With five races remaining now it’s key for the Mexican to take the momentum into the end of the season, to hopefully snatch second in the Drivers’ Championship from Leclerc, something which would further cement Red Bull’s position as the leading team this season.