F1 2021 Points System – Everything You Need To Know

Read on to learn about the points system F1 will use in the 2021 season.

Guide to F1's 2021 Points System - Formula1news.co.uk

The 2021 F1 season is set to get underway in late March, with Australia scheduled to host the first race, though Bahrain is reportedly set to replace it as the season-opener.

There’s plenty to look forward to, with countless driver moves and Racing Point and Renault changing their names to Aston Martin Racing and Alpine, respectively.

READ: Siemens Responds To Mongolian Government’s Letter About Verstappen Slur

In this article, we’ll be running newbie F1 fans through the points system that will be used in 2021.

F1 2021 Points System – How Will Points Be Awarded?

In F1, points are only awarded in the race itself (on Sunday), with the 10 highest-finishing drivers earning points for themselves in the Drivers’ Championship and for their teams in the Constructors’ Championship.

Points will be awarded as such:

P1 – 25 points

P2 – 18 points

P3 – 15 points

Article continues below

P4 – 12 points  

P5 – 10 points

P6 – 8 points  

P7 – 6 points

P8 – 4 points  

P9 – 2 points

P10 – 1 point

A point is also awarded for the driver who sets the fastest lap of the race. But, the driver must finish in the top 10 for them to be awarded this point.

Whoever scores the most points over the course of the season is crowned Champion.

READ: Should F1 ‘Cancel’ Carlos Sainz Over Blackface Kart Circuit Advert?

If two drivers have scored exactly the same number of points, the one with the most victories that season wins the Championship.

Although the Drivers’ Championship attracts the most attention, the Constructors’ Championship is also very important as there’s tens of millions of dollars at stake – and there’s often some very intense battles in the midfield.

Read the latest F1 News on Formula1News.co.uk