Michael Schumacher called a ‘six-time World Champion’

Michael Schumacher's first of his seven titles came in 1994 whilst racing for Benetton.

Motorsport journalist Roger Benoit recently referred to Michael Schumacher a “six-time World Champion”, when discussing where the German driver ranks amongst Formula 1’s greatest of all-time.

Schumacher is, of course, a seven-time World Champion and is joint with Lewis Hamilton when it comes to most titles by a single driver.

However, Benoit believes that Hamilton should be the only seven-time World Champion, as he’s certain that one of Schumacher’s should “actually be taken away”.

In Benoit’s opinion, Schumacher’s maiden 1994 title should be taken from him, due to the manner of which he won it.

Want to work in Formula 1? Browse the latest F1 job vacancies

Schumacher led Damon Hill by a single point in 1994 ahead of the season finale in Adelaide, where Schumacher and Hill both retired following a collision.

Schumacher was leading the race but hit a wall on Lap 36, damaging his car.

It was clear that Hill would get past him as a result, with the British driver having quickly gone for an overtake.

Hill went for an overtake on the German driver before he suddenly shut the door, despite the fact Hill had already pulled alongside.

Article continues below

Schumacher’s Benetton almost flipped as a result, before going into a barrier, where he retired from the race.

Hill initially managed to continue, but soon retired due to the extent of his damage.

With both drivers retiring, Schumacher was crowned as World Champion.

In Benoit’s eyes, this title shouldn’t belong to the 91-time race winner.

“As a six-time world champion, he definitely belongs in the top 5,” Benoit told Blick.

Benoit added: “Of course, I know that he was world champion seven times. But the 1994 title should actually be taken away from him because he only won it because of his foul on Damon Hill.”

READ: Lando Norris breaks silence on replacing Lewis Hamilton

Schumacher went onto also claim the 1995 title for Benetton, before not claiming his third championship until 2000.

He then went on a five-year streak of consecutive titles, with him having been victorious every campaign from 2000-2004 whilst racing for Ferrari.

Fernando Alonso brought Schumacher’s reign to a close, with the Spaniard having won back-to-back titles of his own in 2005 and 2006 for Renault.