Lewis Hamilton Takes Victory At Istanbul To Win 7th F1 Title

Hamilton started the extraordinary race in sixth position and took victory with a pitstop in hand.

Lewis Hamilton has won the Turkish Grand Prix to claim his seventh World Championship and equal Michael Schumacher’s longstanding record.

Hamilton just needed to outscore Mercedes team-mate Valtteri Bottas to mathematically guarantee his 2020 crown.

READ: Sebastian Vettel Expecting The Field To Bunch Up At Turkish GP

And, with Bottas having a difficult race and finishing outside the points in P14, Hamilton comfortably secured the 2020 Drivers’ Title with three races of the season to go.

Sergio Perez finished in P2, ahead of Sebastian Vettel, who picked up his first podium of the season after overtaking Ferrari team-mate Charles Leclerc at the very end of the grand prix.

Leclerc finished in P4, ahead of Carlos Sainz, who put in an impressive performance to make his way up the order.

Max Verstappen could only manage sixth position despite being in a very strong position to win the race at one point.

Alex Albon, Lando Norris, Lance Stroll and Daniel Ricciardo finished in P7, P8, P9 and P10, respectively.

Stroll led most of the race but dropped down the order after pitting for a new set of intermediates and continued to lose positions from there onwards.

Article continues below

READ: Lewis Hamilton After Turkish GP Qualifying: P6 Was The Best I Could Do

Enjoyed reading this article? Consider sharing it: