Lewis Hamilton even more furious after dropping places due to post-race penalty

Lewis Hamilton had a torrid weekend at the 2023 Austrian Grand Prix.

Following the Austrian Grand Prix, the International Automobile Federation (FIA) has imposed additional time penalties on a number of drivers, including Carlos Sainz and Lewis Hamilton, owing to violations of track limits.

These penalties were announced in response to a post-race protest lodged by Aston Martin, which was accepted by the race stewards.

Aston Martin’s contention was that the final race results were inaccurate due to a lack of multiple time penalties for drivers exceeding track limits repeatedly.

In the wake of the race, the stewards have applied further penalties, consequently impacting the Grand Prix’s ultimate standings.

Want to work in Formula 1? Browse the latest F1 job vacancies

Sainz and Hamilton, along with Pierre Gasly and Alex Albon, were handed an extra 10-second penalty each.

Esteban Ocon received the heaviest punishment, owing to numerous track limit breaches and an unsafe pitlane release. Ocon was subjected to four individual penalties: two of five seconds and two of 10 seconds.

Other penalised drivers include Logan Sargeant with a 10-second penalty, Yuki Tsunoda with an additional five-second penalty, and Nyck de Vries, who was given two penalties – one of five seconds and another of 10 seconds.

The stewards clarified that a five-second time penalty was attributed to four track limit violations, while a 10-second penalty was applied for a five limit violation.

Article continues below

A ‘reset’ violation was permitted prior to resetting each driver’s counter.

READ: Lance Stroll demands safety changes after racer dies

Given the sheer volume of infractions, reportedly around 1,200 incidents, the stewards have urgently recommended a solution to the track limits issue at the Red Bull Ring.

These penalties result in Carlos Sainz dropping from fourth to sixth place, promoting Lando Norris and Fernando Alonso to fourth and fifth respectively.

Thanks to Hamilton’s penalty, George Russell, who remained within track limits, moves up to seventh. Concurrently, Lance Stroll ascends to ninth, pushing Pierre Gasly back.