Hamilton Wins Thrilling Bahrain GP After Verstappen Gave Back P1

Max Verstappen started the Bahrain GP on pole position, but Sir Lewis Hamilton overtook him via an undercut in the opening phase of the race.

Lewis Hamilton wins 2021 Bahrain GP - Formula1news.co.uk

Sir Lewis Hamilton has won the 2021 Bahrain Grand Prix, fending off polesitter Max Verstappen after overtaking his Red Bull in the opening phase of the race via an undercut.

READ: Nikita Mazepin Explains Why He Breached ‘Gentleman’s Agreement’

Hamilton and Verstappen opted for different tyre strategies, and Verstappen was gaining on the seven-time World Champion in the final stint of the grand prix.

Verstappen eventually managed to overtake Hamilton, but Red Bull instructed him to give the position back and try again, as he left the track while overtaking him.

Valterri Bottas finished in P3, where he qualified, with him being unable to match the pace of Hamilton and Verstappen and a slow pitstop costing him almost 10 seconds.

The Finn opted for an extra pitstop ahead of the final lap of the race to give himself a great chance of picking up an extra point by setting the fastest lap of the grand prix, which he did.

READ: Sebastian Vettel Falls To Back Of The Grid Due To Yellow Flag Infringement

Lando Norris finished in P4, ahead of the Red Bull of Sergio Perez, who qualified in P11 but started the grand prix from the pitlane due to an electrical issue on the formation lap.

Charles Leclerc, Daniel Ricciardo, and Carlos Sainz finished P6, P7 and P8, respectively.

Article continues below

Japanese rookie Yuki Tsunoda scored two points on his F1 debut with a strong P9 finish, while Lance Stroll rounded out the top 10 in his Aston Martin. 

Like & follow Formula1News.co.uk on Facebook to never miss an F1 story!