Alonso Furious Norris Didn’t Get A Penalty Because He’s British

Double F1 World-Champion Fernando Alonso has insinuated that Lando Norris only escaped a penalty last time out in Sochi because he is British.

The 21-year-old led most of the Russian Grand Prix, but he lost several places after he opted to stay out on dry-weather tyres as the rain came down towards the end of the race.

READ: Lando Norris Comments On Possibility Of Joining Ferrari

After he finally decided to come in for a set of intermediates, he crossed the white line that divides the track and the pit-lane entry as he attempted to enter the pitlane.

He then crossed it again as he was desperate to head into the pits for a tyre change.

Alonso, meanwhile, caught the stewards’ attention in Sochi for going off the circuit at the opening corner on the first lap of the grand prix.

Explaining why he went off the track in such a fashion, Alonso said: “[It was] just to confirm when I do things, they have a different behaviour and a different repercussion on the following event.

“So now, maybe they change the run-off area on lap one in the first couple of corners.

“I’ve been the idiot on track for most of the Championship while I’ve been overtaken from the outside of the asphalt by many people for the first couple of races.

Article continues below

“Even in Austria, I remember Austria 1 and Austria 2 and nothing happened. There were no questions at the following race.

“Now after Sochi, there is a question. It’s a confirmation.”

Continuing, the Spaniard said “there are different rules for different people” in Formula 1 and seemingly fired a thinly veiled jibe at Norris.

“Let’s see, the next one that crosses the white line on the pit entry, let’s see which nationality he is and which penalty he will get,” Alonso added.

Follow us on Google News to never miss an F1 story!