Singapore GP: Charles Leclerc ‘likely’ to be handed victory, Sergio Perez stripped of win

Sergio Pérez is believed to have not followed the rules whilst setting the pace behind the Safety Car.

Sergio Pérez claimed his second victory of the season at the Singapore Grand Prix; however, it is believed by Sky Sports Germany and Ferrari that he will be awarded two separate five-second time penalties.

The race conditions were a mirror image of qualifying, with proceedings beginning in the wet before eventually transitioning into dry-ish conditions.

Pérez made a brilliant start from second and overtook Charles Leclerc into Turn One, from then on, he rarely appeared to be troubled by the Ferrari driver and excellently controlled the race, or did he?

Pérez did everything perfectly all race. However, he has been summoned to the stewards over his behaviour behind the Safety Car, with Ferrari believing that on two separate occasions he dropped beyond 10 car lengths behind the Safety Car.

READ: Secret Mattia Binotto and Toto Wolff meeting sparks collusion against Red Bull claim

The crime is usually punished with a five-second time penalty, but if Pérez is deemed guilty of doing it twice then it could see the Mexican awarded with two five-second time penalties.

Given that Leclerc finished seven seconds behind the Red Bull driver, then it could see the 32-year-old demoted behind the Monegasque driver.

Leclerc was told over the radio that he may actually have won the race; however, celebrated second place on the podium.

“We don’t know what Perez penalty will be. Maybe 2×5 seconds,” Leclerc was told.

Article continues below

“It’s a shame for the start,” replied the Ferrari driver, commenting on dropping to second from the get-go.

“The pace was really really good. I pushed like crazy…”

Leclerc only really came close to overtaking the Red Bull driver once; however, he never appeared to have the confidence to venture onto the wet part of the circuit to attempt an overtake, whilst on the Medium tyres.

Pérez, in the end, appeared to have better pace than his team-mate’s rival, after pulling away towards the end of the race.

READ: Lewis Hamilton fires Carlos Sainz accusation

The current race winner was summoned to see the stewards at 16:55 BST and was seen leaving the office at 17:15 BST.

Should the victory remain for the Mexican, then it will be his second of the season.

It would also make him the first person since Sebastian Vettel in 2011 to win the Monaco and Singapore Grand Prix in the same season.